2014 Board of Trustees

2014 Board of Trustees

Janet Taylor Elected Chairman of the Board of the
Oregon Historical Society

Former Salem Mayor Janet Taylor has been unanimously elected to serve as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Oregon Historical Society. Taylor will assume the Chairmanship at the Society’s Annual Meeting of the Membership on May 3 in Portland.


Janet Taylor

Taylor was elected to the OHS Board of Trustees in 2011. A resident of Salem for over 50 years, Taylor and her husband, Duane, are the former owners of a manufacturing company which provided construction products to seven states. She served as Mayor of Salem from 2003-2011.


Dr. Jerry Hudson, Chairman of the OHS Board of Trustees Nominating Committee and former President of Willamette University said, “Janet is precisely the right person to lead the OHS Board of Trustees at this exciting time in our 116 year history. She is widely respected throughout our state, and is passionate about the critical importance of history.”


Taylor said, “I am honored to have been selected to lead Oregon’s premier heritage organization. I look forward to working with OHS Executive Director Kerry Tymchuk and our outstanding Board to continue our great momentum of the past several years, and to ensure that the Oregon Historical Society serves and benefits every corner of our state.”


Oregon Historical Society Board Officers


President, Janet Taylor

Retired Mayor, City of Salem, Salem


Vice President, Pat Ritz

Footwear Specialties International, Portland


Secretary, Jamieson Grabenhorst

CGC Financial Services LLC, Lake Oswego


Treasurer, Carl Christoferson

Oregon Investments, Portland


OHS Board of Directors


Barbara Beale          

Community volunteer, Portland


Marc Berg                 

Southwest Washington Medical Center, Vancouver, Washington


Mort Bishop III

Pendleton Woolen Mills, Portland


John Boylston

Myatt & Bell, P.C., Portland


Dr. Steve Brown

Custom Decorators, Inc., Portland


Rhett Carlile

Intel Corporation, Damascus


Margaret Carter

Dept. of Human Services: Children, Adults and Families Division, Salem


Christopher Erickson          

Heathman Hotel, Portland


Bill Failing

Consultant, Portland


Dr. Jerry E. Hudson            

Marylhurst University, Portland


Cary Jones

HC Solutions, Medford


Greg Keller

Retired Fire Chief, Portland


Jon Kruse

Community Volunteer, Portland


Dr. William Lang

Portland State University, Portland


Jackson Lewis

Tonkon Torp LLP, Portland


Judge Angel Lopez

Multnomah County Circuit Court, Portland


Pete Mark

Melvin Mark Companies, Portland


Pat Markham

Brooke Communications, Inc., Roseburg


Libby McCaslin

Keller Family Foundation, Portland


Brigette McConville

Salmon King Fisheries, Warm Springs


Anne Naito-Campbell

Bill Naito Company, Portland


Sarah Newhall

Consultant, Portland


Brian Obie

Obie Industries, Eugene


Doug Pahl

Perkins Coie, Portland


Jin Park

The Reserve Vineyards & Golf Club, Aloha


James Richardson

Independent Professional Director, Portland


John Shelk

Ochoco Lumber Co., Prineville


Joanne S. Walch

Regence BlueCross BlueShield, Portland


Ivy Lenz Timpe

Retired Director of HR, OHSU, Portland


William Valach

Portland General Electric, Portland


Bill Wyatt

Port of Portland, Portland

About OHS
Affiliate Members
Annual Meeting
Annual Report & Financials
Board Members
Contact Us
Corporate Heritage Council Current Members
History of the Oregon Historical Society
News & Press
Oregon Folklife Network
Taking Our History Statewide 2015
The Cabinet
Venue Rental